American Journal of Play Editorial Advisory Board

Doris Bergen
Department of Educational Psychology
Miami University 

Simon J. Bronner
American Studies Program
Pennsylvania State University–Harrisburg

Stuart Brown
National Institute for Play

Gordon M. Burghardt
Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
University of Tennessee

Garry Chick
Department of Recreation, Park, and Tourism Management
Pennsylvania State University

Howard Chudacoff
Department of History
Brown University

Rhonda Clements
School of Education
Manhattanville College

Gary Cross
Department of History
Pennsylvania State University

David Elkind
Eliot-Pearson Department of Child Development
Tufts University

Miriam Forman-Brunell
Department of History
University of Missouri–Kansas City

Doris Pronin Fromberg
Curriculum and Teaching
Hofstra University

Joe L. Frost
Child Development
University of Texas at Austin (Emeritus)

Thomas S. Henricks
Department of Sociology and Anthropology
Elon University

Linda E. Homeyer
College of Education
Texas State University–San Marcos

Joan P. Isenberg
Graduate School of Education
George Mason University

Olga S. Jarrett
College of Education
Georgia State University

Vivian Paley
University of Chicago Laboratory Schools (Emerita)

Jaak Panksepp
College of Veterinary Medicine
Washington State University

Anthony Pellegrini
Department of Educational Psychology
University of Minnesota

Charles E. Schaefer
School of Psychology
Fairleigh Dickinson University

Allan Schore
Department of Psychiatry and Biobehavioral Sciences
University of California at Los Angeles
David Geffen School of Medicine

Dorothy G. Singer
Department of Psychology
Yale University

Jerome L. Singer
Department of Psychology
Yale University

Brian Sutton-Smith 
Professor Emeritus, University of Pennsylvania 
Scientific Director, The Institute of Play

Marjorie Taylor
Psychology Department
University of Oregon

National Center for the History of Electronic Games Advisors

Ralph H. Baer
Founder, R. H. Baer Consultants

Ian Bogost
Associate Professor, Georgia Tech

Stewart Bonn
Interactive Entertainment Consultant

Warren Buckleitner
Editor, Children’s Technology Review

Mark Caldwell
CEO, Pacific Beach Digital

Simon Carless
Publisher, Gamasutra and Game Developer 
and Chairman, Independent Games Festival

Louis Castle
CEO, InstantAction, Inc.

Bob Christopher
President, InnerCircle1 Venture Forum

Don Daglow
Interactive Entertainment Consultant

John Davison
Executive Vice President of Content, 
GamePro Media

Mark DeLoura
Video Game Technology Consultant

Keith Feinstein
Creative Director, Eureka Exhibits

Ed Fries
CEO, FigurePrints

Bill Gardner
Managing Partner, Digital Entertainment Insights, LLC

James Paul Gee
Mary Lou Fulton Presidential Professor of Literacy Studies, 
Arizona State University

Hal Halpin
President, Crest Group, management company 
for the Entertainment Consumers Association

Trip Hawkins
Founder and CEO, Digital Chocolate, Inc.

Robin Hunicke
Designer and Producer, thatgamecompany, LLC

Steve Jacobs
Associate Professor, Interactive Games and Media,
Rochester Institute of Technology 
and Editor-in-Chief, Computer Game Education Review

George Jones
Interactive Entertainment Consultant

Michael Katz
Former President, Sega of America 
and Interactive Entertainment Consultant

Debra Kempker
President, Prima Games

Elizabeth Lane Lawley
Associate Professor of Information Technology and Director,
Lab for Social Computing, Rochester Institute of Technology

Nicole Lazzaro
President, XEODesign, Inc.

Carter Lipscomb
Senior Special Markets Manager, 
Strategic Business Development for Sony 
Computer Entertainment America

Jennifer MacLean
Chair Emeritus, International Game Developers Association 
and CEO, 38 Studios

Sid Meier
Director of Creative Development, Firaxis Games

Chris Melissinos
Chief Evangelist and Chief Gaming Officer, Sun Microsystems, Inc.

R.J. Mical
Senior Manager of Software Technology, 
Sony Computer Entertainment of America and Inventor

Jamil Moledina
Outreach Director, EA Partners, Electronic Arts

Joe Morici
Vice President of Sales, 505 Games

John Romero
Executive Vice President and Creative Director, Gazillion Games

Kellee Santiago
Cofounder, thatgamecompany, LLC

Courtney Brown Simmons
Vice President of Communications, 
Disney Interactive Media Group

Robert Stevenson
Vice President of Online Development, 
NAMCO BANDAI Games America Inc.

Bernie Stolar
Former President, Sega of America 
and Interactive Entertainment Consultant

Christian Svensson
VP, Strategic Planning & Business Development, Capcom

Tommy Tallarico
Executive Producer, Video Games Live

Chris Taylor
Founder and CEO, Gas Powered Games

Jon Van Caneghem
VP Production Strategy Games, EA LA

Will Wright
Founder, Stupid Fun Club

National Toy Hall of Fame Selection Committee

Joan Almon 
Alliance for Childhood

Michael Berenstain
Author and Illustrator

Stuart L. Brown, MD
National Institute for Play

Gary S. Cross, PhD
Distinguished Professor, Modern History
Pennsylvania State University

Judith Ellis
Toy Design Department
Fashion Institute of Technology

Virginia McHugh Goodwin
Executive Director
Association Montessori International/USA

Richard Gottlieb
Richard Gottlieb’s USA Toy Experts

Claire S. Green
Parents’ Choice Foundation

Cheryl Henson
The Jim Henson Foundation

Eugene Metcalf, Jr., PhD
Professor, School of Interdisciplinary Studies
Miami University

Anthony D. Pellegrini, PhD
Professor of Educational Psychology
University of Minnesota

Dorothy Justus Sluss, PhD
Associate Professor 
Early, Elementary, and Reading Education
James Madison University

Edwin J.C. Sobey, PhD
Northwest Invention Center

Timothy M. Stearns, PhD
Lyles Center for Innovation and Entrepreneurship
California State University, Fresno

Brian Sutton-Smith, PhD
Professor Emeritus, University of Pennsylvania
Scientific Director, The Institute of Play

Marianne M. Szymanski
Toy Tips, Inc.

Marjorie Taylor, PhD
Professor and Head of Psychology
University of Oregon

Bruce Whitehill
Games Historian

Arthur Yorinks