Academy of Interactive Arts and Sciences Exhibit Now Open

The Strong News Release
One Manhattan Square Rochester, NY 14607 585-263-2700

May 24, 2016

For Immediate Release

Shane Rhinewald, 585-410-6365,

Debby Chen (AIAS), 310-484-2556,

Academy of Interactive Arts and Sciences Exhibit
Now Open at The Strong Museum

(Collaboration Highlights Video Game Industry’s Most Prestigious Awards and Luminaries)

ROCHESTER, New York, May 24, 2016 —The Strong museum, a highly interactive, collections-based museum devoted to the history and exploration of play, together with the Academy of Interactive Arts & Sciences (AIAS), is pleased to announce the debut of an exhibit where guests can learn about game-changing individuals and award-winning video games recognized for outstanding achievement within the interactive entertainment industry. The exhibit showcases recipients of both the AIAS D.I.C.E. (Design, Innovate, Communicate, Entertain) Awards and its Special Awards.

“The AIAS is honored to partner with The Strong to present the history of our awards and industry,” says Martin Rae, president, Academy of Interactive Arts & Sciences. “The Strong is the ideal partner with which to showcase the many accomplishments of the video game community and to hopefully inspire new generations to follow in the distinguished footsteps of our industry’s pioneering game makers.”

Scroll through a touch-screen timeline to learn about D.I.C.E. award recipients across multiple categories, including Game of the Year, Outstanding Achievement in Art Direction, Family Game of the Year, and others. Previous winners for Game of the Year span more than 20 years, beginning from the first recipient, GoldenEye 007 (1998), to the most recent, Fallout 4 (2015). Take a journey through a second kiosk to learn about the exemplary individuals honored by the AIAS through its D.I.C.E. Hall of Fame, Lifetime Achievement, Pioneer Awards,  and Technical Impact Awards—such as 2016 Hall of Fame recipient Hideo Kojima (creator of the Metal Gear Solid series) and 2016 Lifetime Achievement honoree Satoru Iwata (long-time Nintendo president). 

Display cases in the exhibit area feature video game artifacts from The Strong’s collections, including the 2015 D.I.C.E. Awards Game of the Year winner Fallout 4, alongside a D.I.C.E. award statuette. View rare design documents from The Strong’s archival collections, including those from 2012 AIAS Pioneer Award recipient Ed Logg (creator of Asteroids), 2015 AIAS Pioneer Award recipient Ralph H. Baer (creator of the Magnavox Odyssey), and 2007 AIAS Hall of Fame recipient Dani Bunten Berry (creator of M.U.L.E.). A third case will exhibit artifacts from past Game of the Year winners, including The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time, Half Life II and Journey.

“The Strong and AIAS have a shared interest in preserving the cultural history of video games, including their design and development and their impact on society,” says G. Rollie Adams, president and CEO of The Strong. “The museum and AIAS created a formal partnership that resulted in this exhibit, which includes numerous honorees that have donated their work to The Strong for archival and exhibition purposes, among them Ralph Baer, Will Wright, and Bill Budge.”

The exhibit, which is on long-term display and is updated each year with new award recipient content, is included with general museum admission fees.

About The Strong
The Strong is the only collections-based museum in the world devoted solely to play. It is home to the International Center for the History of Electronic Games, the World Video Game Hall of Fame, the National Toy Hall of Fame, the Brian Sutton-Smith Library and Archives of Play, the Woodbury School, and the American Journal of Play and houses the world’s largest and most comprehensive collection of historical materials related to play. Known widely as the nation’s museum of play, The Strong blends the best features of both history museums (extensive collections) and children’s museums (high interactivity) to explore the ways in which play encourages learning, creativity, and discovery and illuminates cultural history.

About the Academy of Interactive Arts & Sciences:
The Academy of Interactive Arts & Sciences (AIAS) was founded in 1996 as a not-for-profit organization whose mission is to promote, advance and recognize the outstanding achievements in the interactive entertainment industry worldwide. The Academy conducts its annual awards show, the D.I.C.E. Awards, to celebrate and honor creative accomplishments in the field. To further enhance awareness of the Academy’s vision, the organization created the D.I.C.E. (Design, Innovate, Communicate, Entertain) Summit in 2002, a once yearly conference dedicated to exploring approaches to the creative process and artistic expression as they uniquely apply to the development of interactive entertainment.  In 2013 the Academy launched D.I.C.E. Europe to cater to the European games market. With more than 30,000 members, including Electronic Arts, Microsoft, Sony, Nintendo, Wargaming, Bethesda Game Studios, Ubisoft, Valve Software, Double Fine, Gearbox Software, Nexon and Insomniac Games, among others. More information can be found at and Follow the Academy on Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn or Google+.