Nicolas Ricketts

Batter Up, Uncle Sam!

Strong National Museum of Play has many historical artifacts that help to tell the story of play in the wider context of American history. One of my favorite posters in the museum’s collection shows how baseball intersected with American history in the early twentieth century.

Baseball was widely recognized as America’s national sport by the late 1800s, and it continued to grow in popularity in the early twentieth century. Two separate major leagues were in place in 1901, and by 1903 the World Series was established. Baseball was here to stay.

Playing with Politics

Now that Election Day has come and gone, it's time to think about the fun side of politics. Yes, there is a fun side to politics, at least when you look at the dozens of politically-themed games in the collection here at Strong National Museum of Play. Throughout American history, games of all sorts have often reflected current politics and events on the national scene.

Heart Gallery

November

Thursday

Thursday, November 1
Friday, November 2
Saturday, November 3
Sunday, November 4
Monday, November 5
Tuesday, November 6
Wednesday, November 7
Thursday, November 8
Friday, November 9
Saturday, November 10
Sunday, November 11
Monday, November 12
Tuesday, November 13
Wednesday, November 14
Thursday, November 15
Friday, November 16
Saturday, November 17
Sunday, November 18
Monday, November 19
Tuesday, November 20
Wednesday, November 21
Friday, November 23
Saturday, November 24
Sunday, November 25
Monday, November 26
Tuesday, November 27
Wednesday, November 28
Thursday, November 29
Friday, November 30
Saturday, December 1
Sunday, December 2

Pages